The Latest and Greatest Trend in Mobile Marketing

A few weeks ago, I had an unfortunate accident and did some serious damage to my cell phone (it wasn’t the first time).  The next morning, I was forced to go to my local Verizon retail store to pick out a new one, and inevitably spend too much money.  Upon arrival, I was surprised and disappointed to find only one or two non-smartphones in the entire store!  In short, I ended up purchasing an iPhone, something that I had said for as long as they have existed that I didn’t need.

I was not that upset with myself for spending so much money on a phone, though, because it felt like Verizon had all but made up my mind for me through their incredibly limited supply of everything that didn’t include a massive monthly data plan fee.  I was forced to accept that day that the world is changing before our eyes to one that functions largely on the go on cellular devices.  In fact, I wonder how long it will take for phones that don’t have the capability to surf the web from practically anywhere on the planet to be completely phased out of our society.

Indeed, the addition of smartphones have made our population a completely mobile one.  Love it or hate it, that reality means big changes in terms of markers everywhere!

QR codes, short for Quick Response Codes, are the latest and greatest trend in the Marketing world, and one that I predict will be around for a very long time. 

 In case you aren’t sure what I’m referring to, this image should jog your memory… I’m sure that you have seen one or two of these before.

Scan this image with your smartphone's QR Code reader to be taken to my Twitter profile!

 So what is all of the hype for?

Customers have the ability to get more information about something that they are interested at the exact moment of interest!

How many times have you seen a flyer or advertisement and thought, “that looks great, I should look into it,” only to lose interest in a few hours, before having the chance to actually look into it?  Or, has anyone ever talked you out of something before you have the chance to go through with it?

QR Codes drastically reduce the time between becoming interested in something and actually exploring it.  This means more leads for businesses and organizations that use QR Codes in their marketing tools.

This new trend in Marketing makes it possible for organizations to take advantage of the fact that a large, and growing, amount of the population walks around with the World Wide Web at their fingertips.

Leave a Reply

