Buffer – a monitoring success story

If you looked at my Twitter feed, and that of most people that I follow, you would see a lot of links to blog posts and other articles about Marketing, Advertising, PR and Social Media. It’s almost like a social circle continuously passing on their endorsement of reading material, some of which they wrote themselves.

Well, one day, I was reading a blog that I was referred to through Twitter, and it listed a bunch of popular Twitter applications.  One of them, Buffer, particularly caught my eye, so I tweeted an endorsement of the app along with a link back to the article.  I didn’t mention @BufferApp or Hashtag #Buffer or anything else like that, so you can imagine my surprise when, 10 or 20 minutes later, I was mentioned in the following tweet from @LeoWid.
 
@J_Mignano James, awesome, so great to have you on board! 🙂
 
At first, I didn’t even know who @LeoWid was, not to mention what he was welcoming me to.  But with a little research, I was surprised to find that it was Leo Widrich, Co-Founder of Buffer!
 
 
In classes and in articles, I always learn that monitoring the internet and being on the lookout for people talking about your business is important, but this is definitely the best example of it that I have seen first hand.
 
In reality, as great of an application as Buffer sounded, I probably wouldn’t have looked into actually using it.  But after being welcomed to the program by the co-founder?  Now that’s a different story.  I just signed up for my Buffer account a few hours ago, and I think I’m going to like it a lot!
 
It wasn’t a huge deal, but it was enough to convert me into a Buffer user.  Not only that, but the monitoring and friendliness of Leo was enough to practically make me a volunteer employee for Buffer.  Now, I’m writing a blog about it and suggesting it to my friends and other Social Media users.
 
It wasn’t very difficult or time consuming, but the simple act of Leo Widrich was enough to change my perception about his brand.  He didn’t know it at the time, but it led to a lot of positive word of mouth about Buffer… and that’s the best part of monitoring the internet for discussion about your brand.  You will never know how far your actions will trickle down.
Leave a Reply

