The Power of Pinning

Okay, so at this point you have definitely heard of Pinterest. Well, I hope, anyway. I mean, I just don’t know where you’ve been recently if you haven’t.

Like most new social media platforms, I was reluctant to try it at first. In fact, I’ll admit that I only relented and signed up after it was made necessary for me to do so, via an internship application. However, once again like most new social media platforms, I instantly found the value of Pinterest, and if you choose to keep reading, it might make a little more sense to you as well.

I’ll start with the basics.

On Pinterest, users create virtual pin-boards. While browsing the web, any image a user finds can be pinned onto one of their boards. For example, if someone stumbled upon a really cool picture of a beach, they could add it to their “Places to visit” Pinterest board. Additionally, users can follow other users and see what they are pinning. Then, they can take images from other users’ boards and re-pin them to their own boards.

Why do people love it?

Pinterest users, if you haven’t noticed, kinda love Pinterest. I think there are a few reasons for this. First, it’s an almost entirely visual platform. Yes, Facebook and Twitter can have photos and videos, but they are both highly text-oriented. Pictures are worth a thousand words.

Second, Pinterest is a really cool way to organize ideas, thoughts, etc. For example, there are plenty of stories of people planning their wedding by using Pinterest. Not only would the site be great for inspiration in this case, but it would also be a quick and easy way to record ideas. Instead of writing down on a legal pad, “Take honeymoon to X Beach,” a person could just pin an image of an awesome beach to their “Honeymoon” board.

It matters.

Since this is a Marketing blog, and I’m really into Marketing, that’s what I really care about. The fact of the matter is, Pinterest can be of value to your organization.

How can Pinterest be of value to my organization, you ask?

Web referral.

All images on Pinterest, in addition to being cool pictures, are actually links to the sites that they were originally from. In other words, if someone sees a really awesome picture of a beach, they might click on it, and that could bring them directly to the front door of the Tourism agency that’s promoting the beach. So, if you were trying to convince people to visit your tropical beach, wouldn’t showing it off through pictures that generate more traffic to your website be a good idea?

According to PR Daily, Pinterest accounts for 3.6% of referral traffic. That might not seem that high to you, but Twitter only accounts for 3.61% of referral traffic? I mean, we have all noticed how valuable organizations think Twitter is, so why should Pinterest not get that kind of attention?

  • Are you on Pinterest?
  • Do you see the value in Pinterest?
  • What will Pinterest be like two years from today?
3 thoughts on “The Power of Pinning

  1. I’m one of those crazy Pinterest people that can spend hours on a Saturday morning just scrolling through the pictures. I completely agree with all of your points, they’re exactly why I love it and everyone else I know who uses it.

    Another point to mention, it’s an oddly awesome feeling when a complete stranger either ‘likes’ your pin, repins it, or follows you. You get an instant feeling of “wow, people are noticing what I’m pinning, what else can i find that people will repin?” I guess addiction plays into its success, haha 😉

Leave a Reply

